Deadline 14th Sept


Manchester Poetry
Prize 2017

Manchester Poetry Prize 2018

Poetry Prize: £10,000*
Entry fee: £17.50
Deadline for Entries: 14th September 2018
Chair of Poetry Judges: Adam O'Riordan

£10,000 prize for the best portfolio of three to five poems (maximum combined length: 120 lines).

Open internationally to new and established writers aged 16 or over (no upper age limit).


Judges 2018


Gillian Clarke

Gillian Clarke was born in Cardiff and lives in Ceredigion. Her work has been on the GCSE and A Level exam syllabus for the past thirty years, and she performs her poetry regularly for Poetry Live. She was awarded the Queen’s Gold medal for Poetry in 2010, the Wilfred Owen Award in 2012. She has written for radio, and translated poetry and prose from Welsh. The Gathering/Yr Helfa, written for the National Theatre of Wales, was performed on Snowdon in September, 2014. Her collection, Ice, was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize in 2012. She was National Poet of Wales from 2008 to 2016.

Imtiaz Dharker

Imtiaz Dharker is a poet, artist and documentary film-maker. Awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry in 2014, she has received the Cholmondley Award and an Honorary Doctorate from SOAS. Her collections include Postcards from godI speak for the devilThe terrorist at my tableLeaving FingerprintsOver the Moon and Luck Is the Hook. She has had eleven solo exhibitions of drawings in India, London, New York and Hong Kong, and also scripts and directs video films, many of them for non-government organisations working in the area of shelter, education and health for women and children in India.  

Carol Ann Duffy

Carol Ann Duffy lives in Manchester, where she is Professor of Contemporary Poetry and Creative Director of the Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University. Her poetry has received many awards, including the Signal Prize for Children's Verse, the Whitbread, Forward and T. S. Eliot Prizes, and the Lannan and E. M. Forster Prize in America. She was appointed Poet Laureate of the United Kingdom in 2009. She was made a DBE in the 2015 New Year Honours list.

‌Adam O'Riordan

‌Adam O'Riordan is Academic Director of the Manchester Writing School at Manchester Met and has chaired the Manchester Poetry Prize panel since 2012. In 2008, he became the Wordsworth Trust Centre for British Romanticism’s youngest ever poet-in-residence and his first collection, In the Flesh, won a 2011 Somerset Maugham Award. His debut collection of short stories The Burning Ground was published by Bloomsbury in the UK and W.W. Norton & Company in the USA, and his second collection of poems A Herring Famine published by Chatto, in 2017. 



For full details and how to enter visit the website: