Deadline 22nd October


Troubadour International Poetry Prize 2018


Judges: Jo Shapcott and Daljit Nagra

  • first prize £2,000
  • second prize £1,000
  • third prize: a week-long creative-writing course at the arvon centre of your choice with thanks to arvon: home of creative writing 
  • plus with thanks to leading poetry magazines & poetry publishers:
  • 5 prizes of book bundles each with 6 latest poetry titles from
    Bloodaxe Books, Carcanet, Faber & Faber, Nine Arches Press, Seren Books
  • 5 prizes of 1-yr poetry magazine subscriptions from
    Under the Radar, Poetry Wales, PN Review, New Ohio Review, Mslexia
  • plus for all prizewinners, an invitation to read at Coffee-House Poetry on prize night, Mon 26 Nov 2018, with Jo Shapcott and Daljit Nagra

Entry fees: £6 / Euro 7.50 / $7

45 line limit

submit via e-mail or post by mon 22 oct 2018



  • Jo Shapcott has been awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry & has won a number of literary prizes including Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First CollectionForward Prize for Best CollectionNational Poetry Competition(twice), & the Costa Book Award for her most recent, Of Mutability. Poems from her three award-winning collections, Electroplating the BabyPhrase Book & My Life Asleep are gathered in a ‘selected poems’ entitled Her Book.
  • Daljit Nagra was the first poet to win the Forward Prize for both his first collection of poetry, in 2007, and for its title poem, Look, We Have Coming to Dover!, three years earlier. His other publications include a retelling of the Ramayana, a Poetry Business Pamphlet Competition winner, Oh My Rub!, & two further poetry collections, Tippoo Sultan’s Incredible White Man Eating Tiger Toy Machine & his latest, British Museum (Faber, 2017).

Full competition information can be found here: