Sinead Morrisey Wins
Forward Poetry Prize


The Northern Ireland poet Sinead Morrissey has won the £10,000 Forward Prize for best collection of poetry.

She was awarded the prize for her sixth collection On Balance at a ceremony in London's Royal Festival Hall.

The Forward Prize is one of the most prestigious prizes in poetry, and previous winners include Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy and Seamus Heaney.

The journalist and broadcaster Andrew Marr who chaired the 2017 judging panel of Ian Duhig, Sandeep Parmar, Mona Arshi, and artist Chris Riddell, said the poems in On Balance were full of energy. "This is writing that successfully comes right up to the edge, again and again."

The Forward prize also includes awards for The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection and Best Single Poem.

The prizes were awarded at a ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall on 21 September 2017 to:

The Forward Prize for Best Collection
Sinéad Morrissey
On Balance (Carcanet)

The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection
Ocean Vuong
Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape Poetry)

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem
Ian PattersonThe Plenty of Nothing (PN Review)

Congratulations to all 15 of the poets shortlisted for the three prizes.


For full details of the results and shortlists can be found on the Forward Foundation website: